May 2019 Sponsor Spotlight - Clint DeRonda

Clint-headshot.jpg

Company: PNC Bank
 
Title: Commercial Relationship Manager
 
Length of FEI membership: 3 years
 
Work email: clint.deronda@pnc.com
 
Work phone number: (813) 221-6147
 
Tell us a little bit about your career, educational/professional background and how you got to where you are today. 
 
I was born and raised in NY. I relocated to Florida in 2000 and obtained my bachelor’s degree in Finance from The University of Tampa (UT) in 2002. I was then fortunate enough to enter a Commercial Banking training program with a regional institution, where I learned the fundamentals that would lay the groundwork for my career. Once I completed that program, I became a Portfolio Specialist where I assisted a Relationship Manager with tasks such as credit analysis, covenant and financial monitoring, etc., and was soon promoted to a Relationship Manager.
 
During the first five years of my career I also passed CFA Level I and obtained my master’s degree in Finance from UT. I have 17 years of banking experience, and my last 5 years have been spent as a Relationship Manager with PNC Bank’s Commercial Bank.
 
Do you think it takes a certain kind of personality to thrive in your field?  What traits are most important? 
 
Patience and persistence!  Being a Commercial Banker requires you to be highly self-motivated and an outgoing person. It comes down to building relationships, listening closely to your clients and prospects’ personal/business goals and facilitating introductions both within and outside your organization to help them accomplish their strategic priorities.
 
What is your best networking tip?
 
Become a FEI Sponsor Spotlight.  In all seriousness, be selective in where you spend your time. Balancing work and family can be a challenge for many. Ensure that the time you spend away from your loved ones at networking events is for something you’re passionate about and/or correlates well with your career aspirations.  
 
Why does your company sponsor FEI Tampa Bay Chapter? 
 
While PNC has many areas of focus, I find its competencies lend to a high success rate in the following industries: Manufacturing, Professional Services, Wholesale Trade, Healthcare and IT. Within these types of organizations, I typically work with C-level executives, so FEI is the perfect organization for me to focus my time building relationships.
 
What are some of your personal hobbies outside of work
 
I have three daughters, age 12, 14 and 15. They are very active in club soccer and High School sports (cross country, soccer and track), so my wife and I spend most of our time at their events. Outside of this I like to run, bike, play soccer and travel whenever time permits.